Drivers younger than age 21 have less experience and the State of Georgia can suspend their drivers’ licenses for many different traffic offenses. For drivers under age 21 ticketed for traffic violations, it is important to consult with an experienced attorney. Working with a Hawkins Spizman lawyer for GA drivers under 21 might help you to defend against your ticket. Our Ga lawyers work to resolve the ticket so that you avoid facing a Georgia drivers under 21 license suspension. There are many risks involved in pleading guilty, or paying a fine, without understanding the consequences. An overview of different traffic offenses that could result in the loss of your driving privileges is below.
Georgia Offenses that will result in a suspension of your license regardless of age
Several offenses will result in an automatic suspension of your license if you are convicted at any age. Some of these include the following:
- Leaving an Accident Scene (Georgia Code Ann. § 40-6-270): If you depart from an accident scene without exchanging information or assisting an injured individual, your license could be suspended. More severe consequences like a felony, which carries one to five years in prison, could ensue if there’s a fatality involved. For accidents leading to property damage only, you still risk a misdemeanor. This can be up to 12 months in jail, a minimum fine of $300, plus your license suspension.
- Street or Highway Racing (Georgia Code Ann. § 40-6-186): Conviction for racing against other motorists on public roads will lead to the suspension of your driving license. The crime is also a misdemeanor that could result in a fine of up to $1,000.
- Fleeing or Eluding Police (Georgia Code Ann. § 40-6-395): If you neglect to stop for law enforcement and attempt to flee, you face an aggravated misdemeanor upon conviction. Your license will be suspended, and penalties may include a mandatory minimum of 10 days to up to 12 months in jail, and a fine between $500 and $5,000. More serious actions such as exceeding the speed limit by 20 mph, causing an accident, crossing state lines, or driving under the influence while evading police can lead to a felony conviction with one to five years in prison and a fine up to $5,000.
- Driving Under the Influence (Georgia Code Ann. § 40-6-391): In Georgia, you may be convicted for DUI if your blood alcohol concentration is at 0.02% within three hours of driving. This limit is significantly lower than the legal threshold for older drivers. A DUI conviction will lead to license suspension, a misdemeanor record, a fine ranging from $300 to $1,000, a minimum of 10 days up to 12 months in jail, compulsory community service, and other penalties for drivers below 21 years.
- Driving Without Insurance (Georgia Code Ann. § 40-6-10): If you are found guilty of driving without valid insurance, your driver’s license will be suspended. You’ll also have a misdemeanor on your record, and you may be fined from $200 to $1,000 and face up to 12 months in jail.
Remember, these Georgia laws aim to maintain safety on the road. It’s crucial to adhere to them to prevent any legal consequences and keep your driving privileges.
Automatic License Suspension
In addition to these offenses, there are several others that will result in an automatic suspension of your driver’s license. This can happen, regardless of your age, and includes the following:
- Vehicular homicide
- Vehicular feticide
- Serious injury by vehicle
- Driving with a suspended or revoked license
- Driving with a suspended or revoked registration
- CDL drivers refusing to weigh
Four or more point offenses for Georgia drivers under 21 License Suspension
The penalties for drivers under 21 for offenses carrying for or more points include a license suspension. Some of these include the following:
- Ga. Code Ann. § 40-6-163 – Unlawfully passing a school bus – Passing a school bus that has operated its stop signal, will result in a ticket violation. As a driver under the age of 21, a conviction will result in six points on your license, a misdemeanor on your record, a license suspension, and a fine of up to $1,000.
- Ga. Code Ann. § 40-6-45 – Improperly passing on a curve or hill – A conviction for someone under age 21 will result in four points on your license, a suspended license, and a fine.
- Ga. Code Ann. § 40-6-181 – Exceeding the posted speed limit by 24 mph or more – A conviction for someone under age 21 will result in four points on your license, a suspended license, and a fine.
- Ga. Code Ann. § 40-6-397 – Aggressive driving – A conviction for aggressive driving will result in six points on your license. This will result in a suspended license for someone younger than age 21, and a fine. Aggressive driving charges are possible when you commit many other types of traffic violations. Those violations occur when you do so with the intent to annoy, injure, intimidate, or harass someone else.
- Ga. Code Ann. § 40-6-390 – Reckless driving – A reckless driving conviction when you are under age 21 adds four points added to your license. This will result in an automatic license suspension and a fine.
The suspension period for an under-21 driver convicted of one of these offenses(first time) is a minimum of six months. Second convictions for drivers under 21 traffic violations in Georgia will result in a 12 month suspension of your license.
Talk to a Georgia lawyer that handles tickets for drivers under 21
Many young drivers incorrectly assume that they must accept the consequences of traffic tickets without legal options. Ticket defense in Georgia’s traffic courts is possible with the help of an experienced traffic attorney. Never agree to just automatically enter a guilty plea for traffic offenses. An experienced Georgia traffic lawyer for drivers under the age of 21 can review your case and explain your legal options. Contact us today to request a free consultation.