Driving Without A License
In Georgia, driving without a license is not just another traffic violation. It is a serious offense that counts as a criminal conviction and could lead to possible jail time. If you were cited or arrested for driving without a license, contact a driving with no license attorney at Hawkins Spizman Fortas today at (404) 933-1153 for a free case review.
Driving Without Ever Having Had a License
While some states only consider it to be a violation for a person who has never had a license to drive, Georgia classifies this offense as a misdemeanor carrying penalties of up to 12 months in jail or a $1,000 fine. A conviction may also affect your ability to obtain a license in the near future.
Driving With a Suspended License
Driving while your license is suspended is even more serious. The same maximum penalties apply, but there is a minimum sentence of two days in jail and a $500 fine. 2nd and 3rd offenses carry penalties of at least 10 days in jail, a fine between $1,000 to $2,500, a six month additional license suspension, and a license reinstatement fee of up to $410 dollars. Subsequent offenses are felonies with a minimum of one year in prison and a fine of $2,500 to $5,000.
If you’ve been charged with driving without a license, don’t take any chances. Call a lawyer for driving without a license as soon as possible. Generally, the only real defense is that you weren’t carrying your license at the time even though you did have a valid license. However, our traffic violation lawyers can still help you:
- Identify any unique aspects of your situation that may create a viable defense
- Pursue the possibility of pleading guilty to a reduced charge
- Request a restricted license for travel to work instead of a total suspension that could cost you your job
- Argue for the minimum sentence allowed under the law
Start moving forward by contacting our office to schedule your free consultation.