Reckless driving is defined as “driving in reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property.” A reckless driving charge can include excessive speed, following too closely, aggressive lane changes, and other driving behavior that creates a high risk of an accident. Reckless driving is considered to be a misdemeanor criminal offense. Reckless driving in Georgia is punishable by up to 12 months in jail, or a fine of up to $1,000. When faced with this serious charge, it’s important to contact a reckless driving lawyer in GA as soon as possible. Georgia Traffic Lawyers offer a FREE 24/7 consultation, call 404-315-9936 now for help.
What are the consequences of a reckless driving conviction?
Because reckless driving is a misdemeanor, you will be required to report that you have been convicted of a crime on employment applications, rental applications, and other forms. A reckless driving charge in GA adds four points to your license. If you were under the age of 21 at the time of the offense, your license will automatically be suspended.
Can I be convicted of both a super speeder violation and reckless driving?
Speed is only one factor used to determine reckless driving, so it is possible that penalties for both reckless driving and the super speeder violation may be imposed. There is no set speed that determines reckless driving. This may be different in other states as traffic laws are state specific.
Is jail a real possibility for a reckless driving conviction?
Many reckless driving convictions in Georgia do not result in jail time — there is no minimum jail time and the 12 months maximum is the standard language for all misdemeanors — but a jail sentence is possible depending on the case. Factors that may lead to jail time include repeat offenses, location (for example, near schools, construction zones, or residential neighborhoods), and whether other drivers were affected or put in danger.
What do I do if I was charged with reckless driving in Georgia?
Unless you were involved in an accident causing injuries, you will usually be given a notice to appear in court. Contact our Georgia reckless driving attorneys as far in advance of the court date as possible to discuss possible defenses, or whether you may be able to negotiate for a reduction to a non-criminal traffic violation.
How long does a reckless driving charge stay on your record in Georgia?
A reckless driving charge stays on your driving record forever in Georgia. What happens if you receive a ticket for reckless driving in Georgia and live in different state? The laws are different in each state. It is wise to consult with an attorney when dealing with a reckless driving ticket. If a driver is under 21, the 4 points for this charge will cause license suspension.